2010 Lake Maquarie Eisteddfod News

Piano,Vocal,Woodwind,Brass Bands and Concert Bands have produced some amazing performances and triumphs. The standard of performance in the region continues to develop and strengthen and music making is ever strong and vibrant.

Teaching standards are excellent and younger performers demonstrate very fine moulding with careful crafting of their development.

Liesl Scheman was the outstanding winner of the Warners Bay Rotary Piano Scholarship. She won prizes in the Australian,Baroque,Classical,and Romantic sections receiving 100% for her contemporary Australian work. A very fine pianist has emerged in Ian Brown, a graduate of Sydney Conservatorium and student of Stephanie McCallum. He dazzled with his performances especially a work by Alkan. Another fine piano winner was Hannah Gibbons who won the 20th Century section with a performance of the Bartok Rumanian Folk Dances. Adjudicator Margaret Lloyd said that the standard was excellent.

The vocal section is very large lasting for six days with singers as young as six.The Warners Bay Lions Club Stage & Screen Prize of $1,000 was won by Kurt Schweinberger, and second prize of $500 went to Jacob Woodruff.The Hawkins Aria of $500 was won by Kim Dover, and second prize went to Elise Pickersgill. Mezzo soprano Joanna Andrew won the Lauris Elms Award of $500, donated the Federated Music Clubs of Australia.

There is a wealth of talent in young singers. Outstanding is 12 year old Olivia Payne. Adjudicator Robert Bickerstaff said of her that ” today a star is born.” Other fine talent included Rileigh Schmitzer from Pantseat productions, 14 year old Tayla Choice, and Tashana Hardy. Seven year old Jack Andrew amazed , singing many songs including an Italian art song. Outstanding in the Woodwind Division winning four sections was Elise Kearney. Erik Flett, Andrew Moore, Alice Whitehead and Max Schroder also gained good marks. The outstanding Brass performer was Hannah Gibbons this time on trombone. A highlight of the Instrumental Divisions was the Brass and Concert Bands Recital Competition, won again by PCYC Brass.